For general release

REPORT TO:	Children and Young People Scrutiny
	Sub-Committee
	9 July 2013
AGENDA ITEM:	6
SUBJECT:	SUB-COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP, CHAIRING
	AND TERMS OF REFERENCE
LEAD OFFICER:	Julie Belvir, Council Solicitor and Monitoring Officer, Director of Democratic & Legal Services
CABINET MEMBER:	Not applicable

ORIGIN OF ITEM:	To convey the decisions of the Scrutiny and Overview Committee.
BRIEF FOR THE COMMITTEE:	To note the decisions of the Scrutiny and Overview Committee.

1. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

This report conveys the decisions taken by the Scrutiny and Strategic Overview Committee at their meeting on 20th May 2013, on the membership and chairing of the Children and Young People Scrutiny Sub-committee for the 2013/14 municipal year.

2. SUB-COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP AND CHAIRING

The Scrutiny and Strategic Overview Committee (SSOC) approved the following arrangements:

2.1 Membership and Chairing

Steve Hollands (Vice-Chair)	Sean Fitzsimons (Chair)
Eddy Arram	Donna Gray
Graham Bass	Bernadette Khan
Richard Chatterjee	Manju Shahul-Hameed
Justin Cromie	
Jason Cummings	Co-optees
Clare George-Hilly	
Terry Lenton	Parent governor representatives:
Michael Neal	Mr James Collins (Vice-Chair)
	Mrs Vinoo John
	Diocesan Representative:
	Mrs Elaine Jones
	Non-voting teacher representative:
	Mr Mike Dawson

2.2 Terms of Reference

- i. To undertake scrutiny of duties and functions of the Council as a Local Education Authority
- ii. To scrutinise all services appertaining to the education and well-being of children and young people
- iii. To undertake any relevant functions as prescribed to sub-committees within Article 6 and Section 4E of the Council's Constitution.
- iv. To scrutinise any other matter as prescribed by the Scrutiny and Strategic Overview Committee.

2.3 Potential overlaps between Committees

In the event of overlap or a lack of clarity of Sub-Committee remits, the Scrutiny and Strategic Overview Committee has agreed that the Chairman of the Scrutiny and Strategic Overview Committee shall, in consultation with the Deputy Chairman and Vice-Chairman, determine the Committee to which any agenda item shall be directed.

CONTACT OFFICER: Ilona Kytomaa

Members Services Manager Ext. 62683

BACKGROUND DOCUMENTS: None